In February, Dane and I adopted a cat from a local humane society.  He’s super sweet and actually prefers to be held..like a baby.  Seriously, he will fall asleep in your arms if you hold him on his back.  He’s just over a year old, so he’s still young. He doesn’t sleep in our bed, so I’m not sure how much he sleeps during the night, but he’s full of energy when my alarm goes off at 4:15am.  He thinks our feet under the blankets are strategically placed toys that are fun to bite.

Really the only complaint we both have is, he meows.  A lot.  He has a few favorite toys that he runs around with like a crazy person cat.  The dressers in our bedroom are slightly elevated, so when he’s batting these toys around with his paws, they ALWAYS end up under the dressers.  He sits in our bedroom and meows until we get our hands and knees to see where they are.  Besides that, he always just walks around meowing.  Several people have told us that he would stop that if we had another cat.  When I checked Facebook this afternoon, the first thing that popped up in my news feed was this.

I sent Dane a text that said, “In case you were wondering, cats can be adopted for $5 on Cinco de Meow-O.”  I was laughing when I sent it because I could just imagine his expression when he read it.  There really wasn’t a whole lot of discussion when I got Teagan.  I e-mailed him a picture of a cat and the next day I brought him home.

I’m not sure if we’re going to get another cat, but we already had plans to get the oil changed in my car on Saturday and the dealership just happens to be across the street from the humane society.  😉

__________________________________________________________________

I’m a terrible blogger, because I hardly took any pictures yesterday.  For breakfast, I had overnight oats and lunch was just leftover buffalo chicken strips and Alexia potatoes from the night before.  Dane had an early softball game, so I was sure we’d be home in plenty of time to make something for dinner.  There ended up being a schedule conflict, so we weren’t home until 10:00pm.  I didn’t want to eat that late, so the little bit of peanuts that I had at the game = dinner.

After I ate my leftovers for lunch, I headed to the post office to send a friend of mine a box of size 14 pants, capris and shorts.  I was happy to get them out of my closet and to a good home.  Of course being out and about meant I had a good excuse to stop at Starbucks for an iced nonfat skinny vanilla latte.

I was wearing capris  that were a size 12.  They’re a little baggy, so hopefully I’ll be able to fit into the couple of size 10 pants I have waiting in my closet.

You’re welcome for the picture of my backside.  😉

I did Week 5 Day 2 of Ease into 5k before work and felt really good.  This time there was only 1 minute walk breaks, but I did it!

Week 5 — Day 2

Workout Time: 28 minutes
Brisk 5 minute warm-up walk. Then do the following.
  • Run 6 minutes
  • Walk 1 minutes
  • Run 4 minutes
  • Walk 1 minute
  • Run 6 minutes

Cool-down with a 5 minute walk.

I plan on doing Week 5 Day 3 on Saturday morning, which bumps up to a 9 minute run!!

Week 5 — Day 3

Workout Time: 30 minutes

Brisk 5 minute warm-up walk. Then do the following.

  • Run 9 minutes
  • Walk 2 minutes
  • Run 5 minutes
  • Walk 2 minute
  • Run 2 minutes

Cool-down with a 5 minute walk.

If you’re familiar with the Couch to 5k program, you know that Week 5 Day 3 is where the dreaded 20 minute run happens.  With this program, it’s Week 6 Day 2 and that will be next week.  I can do it.  (repeat this over and over)

Today is 21 days since I’ve had any alcohol.  I realize that makes me sound like an alcoholic, but if you know me, you know there haven’t been too many weekends where I haven’t had at least a couple of beers.  It’s kinda nice to be able to schedule a run on Saturday morning and know that I won’t be hungover.

Sounds like something Dane would say.  Usually he says, “You go to the gym and I go to the bar and have a beer with a guy named Jim.”  Hopefully one day he’ll go to the gym with me.  🙂  He actually doesn’t drink much anymore either, but I’d like to be able to convince him that he won’t die if he works out/walks to the bridge with me.

Have a wonderful Friday and Happy Birthday to my friend Krista!!

