Last March, when I decided I needed to start losing weight, I bought a Bodybugg to track my daily steps and calories burned.  I wore it for several months and then for whatever reason, it was put in a drawer and stayed there.  For the first year (I believe) the subscription was free.  After that, you have to pay $9.95/month in order to use the Bodybugg.  It will not work without the subscription. I have the armband and the watch display.  Instead of the watch, you can use an app on your smartphone to see your progress or you can plug it into your computer and download the information via the Bodybugg website.

On Friday, I decided it was time to dust it off and see where I’m at with my daily steps and calories burned.  When I input all of my information into the website it tells me that my daily steps goal is 10,000 and my calorie burn goal is 2,300.  The Bodybugg will beep when these goals are achieved and it also beeps once you’ve reached 30 mins of activity.  Yesterday was the first day that I wore it all day.

Bodybugg Stats
Calories burned – 2,399
Steps – 15,174
Activity – 2:17

I did go for a long walk after dinner that most definitely helped.  I did my usual Sunday walk to the bridge and back.  I went over the bridge and even discovered a walkway that goes underneath it.

I waited until after dinner (we ate early) because it was pretty warm out.  There was a really nice breeze the entire time, so I never really got too hot and ended up doing 6.57 miles.

Almost 10 miles for the weekend…I’ll take it!  🙂

This morning started with pancakes.  Dane made some yummy blueberry pancakes using Heart Smart Bisquick.  They were really good.

I only ate 2 of these and also had 3 slices of Gwaltney 40% less fat bacon.

I didn’t have anything for lunch since I knew I wanted dinner early.  We made a recipe that I saw on Danica’s Daily. You can find it here.

Cheesy Chicken Stuffed Shells

Ingredients

  • 12 shells uncooked jumbo shells
  • 1 1/2 cups marinara – We made our own.
  • 2 egg whites, lightly beaten
  • 1 3/4 cups fat free ricotta cheese
  • 4 oz chicken breast, cooked, skinless, diced – Make it yourself or use rotisserie chicken – I boiled mine in chicken stock and shredded it.
  • 16 oz chopped frozen spinach, thawed and drained of excess water
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 Tbsp dried Italian seasoning
  • 4-5 basil leaves, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper and sea salt
  • 1 cups part-skim mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 1/3 cups grated Parmesan cheese

INSTRUCTIONS

1) Preheat oven to 350ºF.

2) Cook manicotti shells in salted boiling water according to the package directions. Drain and rinse with cold water to prevent them from cooking further. Set aside.

3) Coat a 9 x 13-inch pan with cooking spray. Spread 1/2 cup of sauce evenly over bottom of pan and set aside.

4) For filling, in a large bowl, stir together egg whites, ricotta cheese, chicken, spinach, garlic powder, salt, pepper, basil and Italian seasoning. Stir in 1/4 cup each of mozzarella cheese and Parmesan cheese.

5) To assemble, spoon cheese mixture into manicotti shells and place filled shells in a single layer in baking dish. Spread remaining sauce on top. Sprinkle with remaining cheeses and bake about 30 minutes.

Makes 6 servings, 2 stuffed shells for 7 points+

We both approve of this one and we have a ton leftover, even after packing some for our lunches.  I served this with an Alexia Focaccia Roll.  As usual, it tastes a lot better than it looks.  😉

When I got home from my walk, I made myself a smoothie.  A 6 oz. container of Fage 0% Plain Greek Yogurt has 18g of protein!

I can’t believe today is the last day of April.  Wasn’t it just Christmas?  🙂  Time to put together a list of May goals.  In the meantime, here are some posts from April that you may have missed.

Sweaty Start

Meeting Swap

Corporate Run

Cut the crap

Rising Moon and weigh in

Commitment or lack thereof

The Best Turkey Burgers

My date with the scale

Rayz Awareness 5k

Have a great Monday!!

