Yesterday morning, I got up early but I didn’t go to the gym.  I decided that I would run after work, since I need the outside running experience for my race this weekend.  The treadmill is obviously easier to control your speed and I know for a fact, I run too fast outside.  I’ve struggled in every race I’ve participated in so far and it’s more than likely because I start off fast trying to keep up with everyone around me and I quickly run out of steam.

My very wise Turtle friends suggested I focus on slowing way down and worry about time for now instead of pace and distance.  My sister e-mailed me late in the day to tell me she wanted to run with me, so after work we headed out for Week 4 Day 1 of Ease into 5k.

Brisk 5 minute warm-up walk. Then do the following:

  • Run 4 minutes
  • Walk 2 minutes
  • Run 6 minutes
  • Walk 3 minute
  • Run 4 minutes
  • Walk 2 minutes

Cool-down with a 5 minute walk.

It was great!  I slowed down and was able to run the entire time with no problem. I really need to concentrate on starting much slower at my race on Saturday so I will hopefully have some energy left at the end.  I plan on doing Week 4 Day 2 tonight after my Weight Watchers meeting.

For breakfast, I had some eggs.  Nothing fancy.  I’m all out of my 1PP low carb wraps!

I got in my car to leave for work and it was 46 degrees!!  I know you Northern people are laughing, thinking that’s not cold at all but we’ve had some really warm weather lately.  Who doesn’t like to start the day with a little Adele.  Even know they play the ever livin’ crap out of this song.

Snack was a good ‘ol banana.

I brought leftovers for lunch.  To me, this was eve better the next day.

I also had some yogurt and strawberries.  This 2% Fage is REALLY good.

I warned you that you’d be seeing a lot of these.  🙂

When I got home from my run, I made a smoothie.  I made it like I usually do and I promise it tastes better than it looks.  😉

1/2 frozen banana
1 cup fresh strawberries
1 cup fresh baby spinach
1/2 cup 0% Fage
1/2 vanilla almond milk
1 tsp chia seeds

And I made this pizza for dinner.  Definitely not as good as our homemade pizza but it’s small and thin crust.  1/3 of the pizza is 6PP.


That’s all for now.  Have a great Hump Day!!  🙂

