Good Morning!  First of all, I would just like to thank all of you for the feedback on yesterdays post.  It’s good to know I’m not the only one that struggles.  There’s one thing I do know and that is, I’m going to do it!!!  I stopped and started way too many times over the last several years.  I owe it to myself to be healthy.

Yesterday started off dark bright and early.  I did W3D3 of Ease into 5k on the treadmill and felt really good after.  Despite the fact that I pulled the chord on my earbuds too hard, which yanked my phone down onto the treadmill and then on the floor.  Way to draw attention to yourself, Kim!  Thankfully, I was almost done, but I ended up all flustered and forgot to take a pic of the treadmill screen.

Next up, Week 4!  I’m already halfway through the program.  Here’s what Week 4 looks like:

Week 4
Workout Time: 31:00 minutes

Brisk 5 minute warm-up walk. Then do the following:
  • Run 4 minutes
  • Walk 2 minutes
  • Run 6 minutes
  • Walk 3 minute
  • Run 4 minutes
  • Walk 2 minutes

Cool-down with a 5 minute walk.

I’m really hoping to do something like this for my race this weekend.  Most likely 5 minutes running and 2 minutes walking.

For breakfast, I had some overnight oats.  If you haven’t tried them, I guarantee they taste better than they look.  There are some strawberries and bananas underneath.

These held me over all the way to lunch.  I brought a salad w/a leftover turkey burger from Saturday.  As I was packing up my lunch on Sunday night, I thought I should weigh the burger, since I really didn’t know for sure how much it weighed.  I would’ve estimated 3 oz.  Turns out it was 4 oz., so I cut it in half.  This is why we really need to weigh and measure our food, because unless you do, you really don’t know for sure how much you’re eating.

Right after lunch, I had a sugar free pudding.  Be prepared to see these quite a bit..they were on sale at Publix over the weekend.  When Dane got home from work on Saturday, he looked in the fridge and said, “Well, we have plenty of pudding!” 🙂  For me, it’s a good sweet treat for 2PP.

Later in the afternoon, I had a light string cheese.

I brought a plain greek yogurt and strawberries with me, but I wasn’t really hungry, so I didn’t eat it.  Of course, once I got in my car and saw I still had some Weight Watchers Cheese Crisps, I had a bag on the way home.

Before I left for work in the morning, I took chicken out of the freezer.  I knew I wanted something with chicken and broccoli and end up finding this recipe on Skinny Taste.

Chicken and Broccoli Noodle Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 6 oz Ronzoni Smart taste noodles (or no-yolk)
  • 2 tsp oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, sliced thin
  • 12 oz fresh broccoli florets, chopped
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 medium shallot, minced –I didn’t have a shallot on hand.
  • 3 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 1-3/4 cups fat free chicken broth
  • 1 cup 1% milk —I used skim milk.
  • 12 oz cooked shredded chicken breast
  • 4 oz shredded reduced fat sharp cheddar (Sargento)
  • cooking spray
  • 3 tbsp shredded parmesan cheese
  • 2 tbsp seasoned breadcrumbs (I used whole wheat) –I used Italian.

Directions:

Cook noodles in salted water until al dente, or slightly undercooked by 2 minutes. Set aside.

Heat oil in a large skillet. Add garlic and cook on medium heat until golden, about 1 minute. Add the broccoli and a little salt, sauté and cover the broccoli for about 3 minutes on medium heat until the broccoli begins to soften. Set aside.

Preheat the oven to 375°. Lightly spray a 9 x 12 casserole dish with cooking spray.

In a large pot, heat butter over medium-low heat, when melted add the shallot andcook until soft, 2-3 minutes. Add the flour and a pinch of salt and stir well, cooking an additional 2-3 minutes on medium-low heat.

Slowly whisk in the chicken broth until well combined over medium heat; whisk well for 30 seconds, then add the milk and bring to a boil. Simmer on medium heat, mixing occasionally until it thickens (about 6-7 minutes). Remove from heat and add reduced fat sharp cheddar and 1 tablespoon of the parmesan cheese; mix well until the cheese melts.

Add the shredded chicken, noodles and broccoli to the sauce and mix well until evenly coated.

Pour into a casserole dish and top with parmesan cheese and breadcrumbs. Spray a little more cooking spray on top and bake for about 20 – 25 minutes. Place the casserole under the broiler a few minutes to get the crumbs crisp and golden (careful not to burn).

Dane and I both gave this a thumbs up!  (Sorry for the dark picture) I could have eaten a lot more, but I stuck with a portion size (1/6 of the dish) and I was completely satisfied.  I forgot to take a picture of my plate, I was too worried about eating.  🙂

For dessert, I had a small piece of PBBCCO Bars.  Yes, I made more yesterday!  Dane usually takes one in the morning before he goes to work.  Yep, that’s why I made them.  😉

Everyone likes a giveaway, right?

***Danica is hosting a giveway for an Eat Smart Scale!! Click here to enter.

Have a wonderful day!  Teagan says hi, too.  🙂

