So much for Wordless Wednesday, huh?  😉

For the longest time, my smart ass response to someone telling me to do something has been, “Don’t tell me what to do!”  Even if it’s something like, “Meet us downstairs for lunch in 5 minutes.”  I would say, “Don’t tell me what to do.”  Silly, I know. 

On April 4, I started the Ease into 5k program. (formerly known as Couch to 5k)  The Bluefin app on my phone mysteriously changed to Ease into 5k, so I decided to check it out.  The only difference is, it transitions you a little bit slower than Couch to 5k.  Instead of the dreaded Week 5 Day 3 – 20 minute run, with this program that doesn’t happen until Week 6 Day 2. 

I like the app because you can listen to music you have downloaded on your phone, Pandora or iHeartRadio.  There’s also someone (you can select a man or womans voice) that tells you exactly when to run and when to walk.  Yeah, they tell me what to do and I LIKE IT!  Imagine that.

This morning, I decided to turn on iHeartRadio to listen to a local talk radio show during my run.  It was great!  My distance was a little further than yesterday and I didn’t seem to be as winded.  Dane even mentioned that I wasn’t as sweaty as I’ve been.  I did crank up the fan on the treadmill, but W2D3 definitely seemed to come a little bit easier than W2D1.  That’s how it’s supposed to work, right?

This morning was my 3rd morning in a row getting up at 4:15am.  Dare I say I’m on a roll?  I really like giving myself the extra time to wake up and have some coffee before I go to the gym.

I got this coffee mug from Jen and I love it!  🙂

Tomorrow I’m participating in a 5k with 61 of my fellow employees.  My goal is to finish in under 40 minutes.  The race is taking place in Downtown Jacksonville with several other businesses in the Jacksonville/St. Augustine area.  I’m looking foward to it and hopefully I will bring this positive attitude with me, so I don’t stop running for no reason. 

On Friday I will start Week 3 of Ease into 5k.  Here’s what it looks like.

Week 3
Total Workout: 27:00 minutes
 
Brisk 5 minute warm-up walk. Then do 2 sets of the following
  • Run 3 minutes
  • Walk 2 minutes
  • Run 90 seconds
  • Walk 2 minutes
Cool-down with a 5 minute walk.
 
This week I did run 3 days in a row, but if you’ve never run before, I do recommend taking a rest day in between your run days.
 
P.S. I’m going to Weight Watchers after work today to weigh in, since I won’t be able to make it to my meeting tomorrow.
 
Have a great hump day!!
 
