wannabe, wannabee [ˈwɒnəˌbiː]
a. a person who desires to be, or be like, someone or something else

I’ve talked about my love/hate relationship with running before.  I feel like any time I’ve attempted to get in my groove, I either sustain an injury or my mojo has evaporated into thin air.  I don’t think I’ve ever really gotten into the “running groove.”  Honestly, I’ve never even ran for more than a mile without stopping to walk.  Whew..it kinda feels good to get that off my chest. 

I just got a brand new pair of running shoes, Dane got me a Garmin for Christmas, I have an iPod Nano with some brand new music on it, (thanks to the iTunes gift card I won on Racheal’s blog.)  I have a new Bondi Band that I got on my trip to Virginia Beach and most importantly, I have all of my limbs.  I should be able to run, right?

This is definitely something mental going on with me.  I have so much internal self doubt going on in my head, that within a few short minutes, I’m completely convinced that I can’t do it.  I throw in the towel, start walking and rarely resume running.  I can walk 6 miles with no problem, so why is this running thing so difficult? 

The wannabe reference comes from my feelings regarding my awesome online running group.  Kinda funny that I’m part of a running group and I’ve never run for more that a mile without stopping.  I must say that our group is about so much more than just running, but we all came together via the Couch to 5k message boards on the Weight Watchers site.  We all had that in common just under a year ago and now some of us have run5k’s, 8k’s, 10k’s, 10 milers, half marathons and one of our members is training for a FULL MARATHON!  Sarah is my hero.  🙂

I don’t want to give up. So how do I get rid of this evil, negative, time sucking person inside my head?  There is a part of me that knows I’m perfectly capable of doing this but for some reason the negative side always ends up being much stronger. 

I know I can’t lace up my shoes when I get home, turn on my iPod and set out to do 5 miles.  I realize that is completely unrealistic.  The only way I’m going to build up my endurace, is to do C25k AGAIN.  I probably don’t need to start at Week 1 but I need to follow it and stick with it until Week 9 Day 3. 

When I talk to other people about how they got started or what they think is key to their workout routine, the number 1 answer is almost always consistency.  You gotta stick with it, right?  This is where I’ve been lacking. 

Sorry for the Debbie Downer post.  This is just a reflection of how I’m feeling today. 

Did you ever struggle to run? 

Do you have any suggestions for me?

Now you should go read something that made me happy!!  Racheal did a guest post today on The Fitnessista regarding Weight Watchers.  You can check it out here.

