When I think back to how many times I’ve attempted to lose weight over the last 15 years, there are too many to count.  For the first couple of days, I would be extremely motivated and before the end of the week, I was right back to my horrible eating habits and sedentary ways. 

I decided last March (2011) that it was time to do this..for real.  I joined a gym, I bought an iPod, I bought a Bodybugg and within a couple of weeks, I started my early morning workouts.  I found that getting my workout done first thing in the morning was best for me.  Like I’ve mentioned before, I’m very good at talking myself out of things and coming up with excuses. 

Throughout the last year, I’ve had weeks where I’m completely on track.  I get some sort of activity in every day, I make good food choices, I track everything I eat and I drink at least 100 oz. of water a day. 

For the last month or so, I’ve been struggling.  I haven’t completely given up, but there has been a lot more eating out, a lot less calories being burned and not as much water consumed.  Overall, I’ve lost close to 30 lbs.  I do realize that’s a great accomplishment and I am proud BUT I also know that I’m capable of so much more.  I have 30 lbs to go until I reach the goal I’ve had in my head.  When I see pictures of myself now, I do see improvement, but I also see a lot of work that needs to be done.

As of tomorrow, there are exactly 5 months left until my cruise with my girlfriends and sister.  I know I can reach my goal by then if I set my mind to it, follow the Weight Watchers plan and stop making excuses.  I need to change from being my own worst enemy to being my number one supporter. 

As I mentioned in my previous post about my weekend in Virginia Beach with my Turtles, I had a wonderful time.  Everyone has come such a long way..some more than others.  At the next Turtle get together, I would like to be able to run “with” them.  At times throughout the race, I was thinking to myself that I didn’t deserve to be there and I wasn’t a runner.  I doubted myself because I knew I wasn’t prepared.   

So, what do I need to do to stop this cycle and get back on the wagon?

  1. Run – I’m never going to get better at running unless I’m consistent.  If that means starting over with intervals to increase my distance, so be it.
  2. Make good food choices.  This usually means planning meals and packing lunch the night before.  When I leave for work in the morning without lunch and snacks for the day, I already feel out of control.
  3. Track everything.  When I look back at my weight record, on the weeks that I had good losses, I tracked everything.
  4. Eat less carbs and focus on getting all of those fruits and vegetables in.
  5. Get back to my early morning workouts. 
  6. Blog daily. 

Those are just a few of the things I know I’ve been struggling with.  In Virginia Beach a couple of the girls pointed out that I needed new running shoes due to the fact that I had ZERO traction left on the outside of my shoes.  I found a pair of Brooks Defyance for $45 on 6pm.com yesterday!  They’ve been ordered and are on their way. 

Thank you for listening to me talk this out after feeling like crap this morning.  First step in the right direction is kickboxing class tonight.

