Can you believe it’s already the last day of January?  Wow, that went by fast!  Feels like Christmas was just here.  Overall, I would say January ended up being a very good month for me.  Although I gained weight at the first weigh in of the month, I had good losses at the last 3.  You can see my my weigh in results here.

February Goals

  • Lose 7 lbs.  My personal goal is to lose between 1-2 lbs, so I think this is realistic for me.
  • Continue tracking everything I eat.
  • Resume 8k training.
  • Make at least 1 new recipe a week.
  • Drink at least 100 oz. of water every day.

I wish I was in this frame of mind during most of last year.  I was definitely lacking the discipline that I have now.  One of my co-workers was walking around the office yesterday afternoon with a box of donuts.  He came by my desk asking if I wanted one.  As good as they smelled, I said no thanks.  Instead I went to the kitchen and grabbed my apple and string cheese.  A Dunkin Donuts Chocolate Glazed Cake Donut = 10PP.  My apple and string cheese = 1PP.  The old Kim would’ve gladly taken the donut and probably would’ve ended up in the break room looking for another.

I’ve had oatmeal for breakfast the last few mornings.  As much as I love my omelette’s, I’ve found the oatmeal keeps me feeling full quite a bit longer.  The first time I made overnight oats, I didn’t really care for them, but now I’m really starting to like them.  This is typically how I make them.

I’m also hooked on Green Monster smoothies.  I’ve been having one pretty much every day.  I made this one tonight.  Dane thinks they look really gross, but he admits they taste good.  🙂

In the mix:
1/2 cup skim milk
3 oz. fat free plain greek yogurt
1/2 cup fresh strawberries
1/4 cup fresh blueberries
3 cups baby spinach
1 tbsp ground flax seed
2 Splenda packets
8 ice cubes
**At my meeting on Saturday, I asked my leader about the blended fruit controversy.  She said if you’re putting whole fruit in your smoothie (not fruit juice), it’s ZERO points.  That’s what I’m going with.

Time to make lunch for tomorrow and hit the sack.  Campaign coverage is on instead of Parenthood.  Boo!

How was your January?

