This weeks challenge in the 12 Week Weight Loss Challenge I’m participating in is, try 3 new recipes and share them with the group.  Of course this is the challenge the week that my personal chef Dane is out of town for work. 

Last night I knew I wanted to make something with a sweet potato.  I remember seeing Sweet Potato Black Bean Burgers on Beth’s blog a couple of months ago.  They sounded really good, so I decided to give them a try.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Burgers – 7PP

Ingredients

1/2 cooked sweet potato – 3PP – I used a whole medium sweet potato
1/4 cup black beans – 1PP
1/4 cup panko bread crumbs – 3PP

Directions

1.) Wash and poke holes in a sweet potato and microwave it for 5 minutes. OR use 1/2 leftover baked potato – I had a microwavable sweet potato from Publix

2.) Put 1/4 cup canned beans and the sweet potato in a food processor and pulse until combined – I don’t have a food processor, so I used a masher. 

3.) Put mixture into a bowl and add the panko crumbs

4.) Mix until combined and form into patties.

I cooked them in a pan with some olive oil cooking spray.  I think they would’ve been much better if I had the food processor to combine these 3 ingredients better.  Plus, I used the whole sweet potato, so it was very potatoey. (that’s a word, right?)

I served them on a toasted Deli Flat with some salsa.

I will definitely try them again as I love sweet potatoes and black beans.  🙂

You’re probably wondering about the post title, huh?  This morning, I went to reach in my underwear drawer and felt my lower back pop and almost fell to the ground.  I was instantly in pain.  I tried laying on my bed for a couple of minutes to stretch a little but it didn’t seem to help.  I walked around my room like a 90 year old woman getting dressed for work.  For a second, I contemplated calling my boss, but I hate calling in, so I took a couple of Aleve and drove to work. 

The 45 minute drive sucked.  Every little move hurt and I couldn’t get comfortable.  Even breathing too hard hurt!  I got to work and start walking up to the door with my purse and a couple of bags.  One of my co-workers noticed I was walking really slow and hunched over.  (I couldn’t stand straight up)  He asked me why in the world I didn’t stay home and at that moment I was wishing I was home in bed.

Of course sitting at my desk was painful.  I laid down in my boss’ office for a few minutes and found that was the only position I was comfortable.  I made it about 2 hours and decided I needed to go home. 

I’m laying on the couch now with a heating pad.  It’s a little bit better than it was earlier.  If it still hurts bad in the morning, I’ll go to the doctor.  I’m really bummed because I was just getting into my workout routine!  I had my bag packed to go to Zumba right from work and now I obviously can’t go.  I’m hoping I just pulled something and it’s nothing serious.

 Before the whole back fiasco, I made a Green Monster Smoothie this morning.  This one was a little different as I didn’t add any fat.  Usually I use 1/2 cup skim milk and fat free greek yogurt.


This one didn’t look all that appetizing, but it tasted great!

Kim’s Green Monster

1 1/2 bananas
1/2 cup strawberries
1/4 cup blueberries
2 cups baby spinach
1/2 cup water
6 ice cubes
2 splenda packets

I will definitely make this one again! In my book, this is a 0PP smoothie.  I know some people count blended fruit as points.  That’s up to you.  Time to take more Aleve and hopefully take a nap.  I hope you’re having a better day than me.

