This morning I knocked out my 2 mile run as per my 8k training.  I actually ended up with 2.5 miles with a warm up and cool down walk.  There was a girl on the treadmill next to me running that really kept me motivated to keep going!  At first I thought it was kind of weird that she picked the treadmill right next to me, when there were 20 other ones open, but in the end I was glad she did.  🙂

On Saturday when my family was over dinner, my Dad was talking about how he was doing so well before the holiday’s and then he fell off the wagon.  He said that for awhile there he was eating a big bowl of oatmeal in the morning and then not eat again until 5pm!  I told him that WASN’T good.  When you go that long without eating, your body goes into starvation mode and stores everything as fat.

I gave him a quick rundown of some of the things I eat on a daily basis.  I have a lot of people ask me what kind of snacks I eat during the day, so I thought I’d share a few of them.


Cutie aka California Clementine.  I’m hooked on these things!  They are so sweet and delicious and of course 0PP!


Apple & light string cheese.  I love these two together.  The apple is 0PP and the string cheese is only 1PP!


Carrots and hummus.  I used to bring 1 whole wheat pita (4PP) and hummus, but I found the pita was too pointy, so I got these carrots (oPP) and 2 tbsp hummus 2PP.  I love hummus! 


Yogurt and berries.  Fresh blueberries and strawberries have been on sale for the last few weeks, so I’ve been stocking up, but frozen berries work as well.  This blueberry yogurt is 3PP and of course the berries are 0PP.  If I have some extra points to play with, I’ll add some granola, too.

Those are just a few healthy snacks that you can have instead of those 100 calorie snacks.

What do you snack on during the day?

 

