I want to love running, I really do.  I love the way I feel after a run, but I always stop so soon.  Why?  I think my biggest obstacle is self doubt.  Instead of encouraging myself to keep going, I’m instantly telling myself, “I don’t think I can go any further” or “I’m already out of breath.”  At that point I resort to walking and rarely start running again.  My knee’s don’t hurt anymore, so I can’t use that excuse.  The weather has been pretty much perfect for running, unlike the 90+ temps in the summer.  Logically, I know that if I keep going, I’m not going to die, but there’s a voice deep down that tries to convince me otherwise.

Like anything, I’m pretty sure the only way to get over this hump is to JUST DO IT.  Dane got me a Garmin for Christmas, I have great running shoes and I have an iPod Nano.  I should be all set, right?  I just need to grab my confidence and hit the road! 

I’m registered for the Towne Bank 8k in Virginia Beach on St. Patrick’s Day with my Turtles.  I really don’t want to be the only one that ends up walking most of the race.  I know I can do it!

I’ve only done one 5k (in October) and ended up finishing in 42:33.  I walked WAY more than I planned to and I don’t really have a good excuse as to why. 

I know that walking is good exercise too, but I want to run!!

Do you talk yourself out of things you know you can do?

 

