The last few days have been really good for me as far as being on track.  It got me thinking about the difference between now and other times I’ve felt very out of control.

I find that being prepared helps me more than anything.  For example, if I know I’m going to the gym in the morning, I’ll chop up my veggies for my omelette before I go to bed.  That way when I get home from the gym, all I have to do is heat the pan throw the veggies in and add the eggs/egg beaters.  I also get the coffee pot ready to go the night before and pack my lunch/snacks for work.  This not only saves me time in the morning but I’m also less tempted to spend money or make bad food choices if I have my meals planned out.

I always put the outfit I’m wearing to the gym in the bathroom along with my shoes.  This saves me from having to think that early in the morning and I don’t have to make a bunch of noise in the bedroom digging through dresser drawers.  🙂

A lot of people ask me how I get out of bed that early (4:45).  The only thing I can say is, when the alarm goes off, get up.  If I sit there and think about it or even close my eyes again, forget it.  I’m not getting up.  Also, make sure you get to bed at a decent time.  I try to be in bed no later than 10pm.

Another big thing is tracking.  I’m much more likely to stay OP if I track EVERYTHING I eat.  During the week when I get to work, I usually track everything I brought with me that day (you can always delete if you don’t eat something), that way I know exactly how many points I’m going to have for dinner.  When you pay attention to serving sizes, you realize just how much you’ve been overreating.  Dane made some homemade guacamole the other day.  I literally counted out 11 Multigrain Scoops to equal 1 serving.  In the past, I would’ve had the bag in front of me and probably eaten double or triple that amount.  And, I was completely satisfied after 11.

Water!  My goal is to drink 100 oz. of water every day.  During the week, I usually exceed that and on the weekend, it’s a little more challenging.  I can actually feel when I haven’t had enough water.  I used to get BAD heachaches and rarely get them anymore.  *knock on wood*  I don’t drink, soda, juice or tea for the most part.  (I’ll have a half and half tea once in awhile if I’m at a restaurant)  I do have coffee every morning and just recently  started using skim milk instead of flavored creamers.  3 tbsp fat free skim milk = 0P 1 tbsp fat free french vanilla creamer = 1PP.  I also use 2 Splenda packets = 0PP. 

Weight Watchers makes it very easy to track with eTools, the smartphone app and now the awesome Barcode Scanner app.  Jennifer at It Sux to Be Fat just did a great review on the Barcode Scanner app.  You should check it out.  😉

These are just a few of the things that keep me on track and will hopefully make me successful.  Have a great day!

