Not only is there one more week until Christmas but I only have one more week of work and then I’m off for 10 days!  Yes, 10 glorious days off.  I don’t think I’ve ever had that many days off in a row.  🙂  Because of the holiday paid days off, I only had to use 4 vacation days.  Sweet!

We had a great time at the party last night.  I ended up having 3 glasses of wine.  (9PP)  Dinner was excellent.  There was a smoked turkey, ham and pork shoulder with a ton of sides.  I had the smoked turkey and it was very tasty.  It definitely had a distinct smoke flavor but I liked it.

We got home at midnight.  I’m amazed how late that feels now.  We were both exhausted and ready for bed!

This morning we were up early.  I wish I could sleep past 7:00am, but it never seems to happen.  Instead of cooking, we decided to go to Cracker Barrel for breakfast.  That was fine with me, since I wanted to pick up a few ornaments there anyway.  I had Eggs in the Basket.  <—- If I’m there for breakfast that’s usually my choice. 

When we got home, I baked some more cookies.  I’m giving them away in cute little snowman bags as gifts this week.  My sugar cookie batter is chilling in the fridge now, so more baking to do yet tonight.  I hate that it’s dark already at 6:00pm.  It feels like 10:00pm! 

Dane decided to set up his Grandpa’s train set around the Christmas tree this afternoon.  I love it!

The house looks so festive!  🙂  Dane’s parents will be here from North Carolina on Thursday.  On Friday/Christmas Eve Eve, we’re having my family over for dinner and we’re going to have 14 people over on Christmas Day!

Because he rocks, Dane made dinner tonight.  Pan seared Mahi Mahi and roasted brussel sprouts.  Yum!

This is just something that’s been on my mind, so I thought I’d share with my readers and see what you think.  I’ve been using Splenda (0PP) for some time now.  Primarily in my coffee and plain greek yogurt.  I’ve been hearing more and more lately that artificial sweeteners cause cancer.  So, is it worth the zero points to get cancer?  Of course not.  Here’s what I found on Mayo Clinic‘s website.

Possible health concerns with artificial sweeteners
Artificial sweeteners have been the subject of intense scrutiny for decades. Critics of artificial sweeteners say that they cause a variety of health problems, including cancer. That’s largely because of studies dating to the 1970s that linked saccharin to bladder cancer in laboratory rats. Because of those studies, saccharin once carried a warning label that it may be hazardous to your health.

But according to the National Cancer Institute and other health agencies, there’s no sound scientific evidence that any of the artificial sweeteners approved for use in the United States cause cancer or other serious health problems. And numerous research studies confirm that artificial sweeteners are generally safe in limited quantities, even for pregnant women. As a result of the newer studies, the warning label for saccharin was dropped.

So, what do you think?  Do you use artificial sweeteners?

Do you use Google Chrome?  If so, google “Let it Snow”  🙂

