I was able to leave work at 1:30pm today.  Gotta love an early start to the weekend!  I had some errands to run and I still hadn’t had lunch.  The old Kim would’ve gone through the Wendy’s drive thru for a chicken sandwich/burger, fries and a soda.  New Kim decided to come home to change my clothes and make myself a salad.  1. It’s definitely more comfy running around in flip flops vs. heels and 2. I had a whole lot less calories eating at home.


*I will list the ingredients in my food log.

Dane was at a Christmas party.  When I got home I saw I had a text from him telling me where he was at.  He asked if I wanted to stop by there but I declined because I knew I would be tempted to have a few drinks.  I have weigh in tomorrow morning, so I already planned on not drinking tonight. 

I ran my errands and we ended up getting home within minutes of each other.  Apparently I was supposed to take something out of the freezer for dinner when I got home from work.  Oops!  🙂  Dane didn’t eat lunch and had several drinks, so we decided to go out for dinner.  We chose Outback, since it was only 5:30 and probably wouldn’t be packed yet. 

As we were looking over the menu, I thought of past trips I had made to Outback.  On more than one ocassion, I had at least a 1/4 of a Bloomin’ Onion, a few pieces of bread, salad, steak, loaded baked potato and a few beers.  OMG!! I don’t even want to know how many points that would be.  This time I was determined to make better choices.  My friend Clara told me there were under 500 calorie options!! Score!  I chose the Outback Special (6 oz. sirloin) w/out butter and the veggies also without butter.  This came with a side salad w/tangy tomato dressing.  (I had the dressing on the side and used very little)  Here’s the nutrition information.  I love restaurants that have nutrition info on their website!  It makes counting points SO much easier.  I had water to drink, so this meal = 10PP!  I also had 2 very small pieces of bread with very little butter.  Either I’m blind or the bread info isn’t on the website.  I’m calling it 2PP.  NSV! NSV! (non scale victory)

I definitely noticed the lack of butter, but it was still very good and I left the restaurant feeling satisfied instead of overly stuffed.

We passed dessert and had a piece of this gum that my friend Katy told me about.  It really does taste like apple pie!!

Food log for today:

Breakfast

1/2 Smart bagel – 1PP (before gym)
1 tsp Skippy natural peanut butter – 1PP (before gym)
1/4 cup egg beaters – 1PP
1 tbsp Mexican blend shredded cheese – 1PP
1/2 Smart bagel – 1PP

Snack

16 multigrain pringles – 4PP
Light string cheese – 1PP

Lunch

1 cup romaine lettuce – 0PP
1/4 cup mushrooms – 0PP
1/4 cup cucumbers – 0PP
1 tbsp French’s french fried onions – 1PP
2 tbsp – light italian dressing – 1PP
1/4 cup tomatoes – 0PP

Dinner

Outback special (requested under 500 cals) – 10PP
2 small pieces of bread – 2PP

Snack
1/2 cup plain greek yogurt – 2PP
2 tbsp frozen berries – 0PP

Total = 26PP

 Do you find it difficult to make healthier choices when you eat out?

