In June, after I joined Weight Watchers for the first time, I decided I wanted to step up my workouts.  I had been walking 10-15 miles a week for several months.  I discovered a C25K message board on the WW site.  It was there that I met a very supportive group of ladies that I rely on for support still today.  Our group is affectionately known as “The Turtles.”  I honestly don’t know where I would be without them.  We bounce ideas off one another, vent when we’re having a bad day and give atta girls when necessary.  Everyone needs a pat on the back for a job well done.  🙂

All of us have these turtle charms on our running shoes.  Cute huh?

I never made it all the way through the Couch to 5k program.  My knee started bothering me to the point where I couldn’t run anymore.  I met with a friend of mine who is a physical therapist and she said my knee pain was chondromalacia.  She gave me exercises to do to strengthen the muscles surrounding my knee and she instructed me to ice it for a few minutes after any activity.  Lately, it’s been feeling much better.  I’ve been avoiding the stairs at work all together, which I think started aggravating it in the first place.

Today I decided I would start the program over from the beginning.  I brought my workout clothes with me this morning and went to the gym right from work.  I did it!!  Even though it was a small amount of running, it felt really good to run again.  W1D1 (Week 1 Day 1) is in the bag.  I iced my knee as soon as I got home.  It feels good!  🙂

Dane was cooking dinner when I got home.  I know, I’m lucky!!

Food log for today:

Breakfast
1/4 Banana chocolate breakfast bar – 2PP
Banana – 0PP
Light string cheese – 1PP

Snack
2 tbsp roasted red pepper hummus – 2PP
1 small multigrain pita – 2PP

Lunch
Leftover turkey chili – same as yesterday w/out rice – 5PP

Snack
18 fat free tiny pretzel twists – 3PP
1 chocolate chip cookie – 1PP

Dinner
1/2 cup cooked rotini – 3PP
1/2 cup spaghetti sauce – 3PP
Fresh mushrooms – 0PP
1 slice multigrain bread – 2PP
1/2 tbsp I Can’t Believe it’s Not Butter – 1PP

Snack
1/4 cup plain greek yogurt – 1PP
1/4 cup frozen berries – 0PP

Total = 26PP

The Biggest Loser Season 12 finale is on tonight.  Will you be watching?  If so, who do you think will win?  I have a feeling John is going to be the person that ends up way too skinny.  He seems a little crazy to be very determined!

