My run = total fail!  😦  I did a 5 minute warm up walk and soon as I started to run my knee hurt bad.  Not the kind of pain that gets worked out after a little bit.  Every step I took, hurt BAD!  I was so disappointed. 

Earlier this year I went to an Orthopedic to have my knee looked at because it was causing me pain.  Primarily when I took the stairs at work or when I bent down to a kneeling position and tried to get back up.  (that pretty much never went away) I had an MRI done and it didn’t show anything.  At least not anything that was worth fixing surgically.  He did mention that my kneecap slightly shifted.  He suggested I ice it twice daily, avoid the stairs and work on building the muscle surrounding my knee. 

I started running in June using the Couch to 5k program.  I didn’t experience any knee pain then.  I continued to run all summer, again with no pain. As soon as it started getting cooler here again (about 3-4 weeks ago), I started noticing a little bit of pain again.  I went for a run last Saturday with the intention of running 3 miles.  I walked most of it.

I know I don’t need to be running now, risking the chance of injury.  I’m not sure if I should get a 2nd opinion and have another MRI done or if I should rest this week, icing twice a day and see how it feels next week?

I’m thoroughly disappointed, because my weight loss has been slow.  I really wanted to step up my running to to hopefully speed up the process.  Crossing my fingers that it will be better next week.  I have a 5k on November 19. I really don’t want to have to back out of it!!

When I got back from my run walk, Dane and I had salads for dinner.

Romaine lettuce, cabbage (leftover from yesterday), carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes, walnuts and reduced fat shredded cheddar.

Time to relax with some Monday Night Football and come up with my November goals.  Tomorrow is November already?!?! How did that happen?

Have a great night!  🙂

