We started off the day at Wal-Mart.  On the list: shampoo, laundry detergent and Bar Keepers Friend.  $100 later we left.  Why does that always happen?!  That didn’t even include any groceries. We were headed to Publix next.  Yep, you guessed it..close to another $100 spent there.  The day started off rainy and gloomy.

Do you have one of these staring you in the face every time you walk into the kitchen? I swear I’ve heard it call my name several times today.

As we were putting groceries away I noticed a loaf of Italian bread that was going bad.  Instead of throwing it away, I decided to make some homemade croutons.

They turned out pretty good!  I just combined some olive oil, garlic powder and salt in a bowl.  Added the bread and coated it with the olive oil mixture.  Spread them out evenly on a foiled cookie sheet and baked them for 10 minutes at 400 degrees.

\

They turned out pretty good! So, of course we had salads for lunch.  We wanted to eat something small since we knew we were having Chicken Enchiladas for dinner.

These turned out great! As Dane was licking his plate, he said, “Those sucked, don’t ever make them again.”  Ha!

I didn’t follow a recipe, but let’s see if I can explain how I threw them together.

I started with a package of boneless skinless chicken tenders. (you could use breasts or cutlets, I just had these on hand) I seasoned them with salt, pepper and some cayenne pepper.

In another pan, I sauteed onions and mushrooms. (mushrooms probably seem like an odd addition to a Mexican dish, but we love them). I cooked the chicken in some olive oil for a few minutes on each side and then added the mushrooms and onions.  I added a can of Mild Rotel and a 1/4 cup of chicken stock.  Bring it to a boil and then reduce the heat and let simmer for at least an hour.  I stir it occasionally and start shredding the chicken with 2 forks.  It’s done when the chicken is completely shredded and the there’s no more moisture from the chicken stock.

Fill 9 flour tortillas with the chicken mixture and roll up to fit in a baking dish.  Cover with 1 can of enchilada sauce and shredded Mexican blend cheese.  Bake at 350 for 15 or until cheese is melted.  I just served them with black beans, but they would be good with some Spanish rice, too.

 

Oh yeah, I also whipped up a batch of chocolate chip cookies today, too.

Dane said if I continue to cook and bake like I have been, he’ll have to invest in a nice KitchenAid mixer. YES!!!!! 🙂

We just watched the Florida Gators lose to Georgia, so it’s time for a movie and some quality couch time.

